About Us

Our Mission

InfraLab is a multi-disciplinary research group at the University of Michigan dedicated to the investigating the intermingled social and technical aspects of digital media technologies and their implications for society. Our approaches include human-computer interaction; science and technology studies; legal research on politics, laws, and institutions; design research; and more. Our recent work has focused on fairness and justice in algorithmic systems, perceptions of targeted advertising, inequality and social media use, and the future of information policy.





Christian Sandvig, Information and Communication Studies (Algorithmic Culture, Infrastructure Studies)



Robin Brewer, Information (Accessibility, Equity, Participation in Online Communities)

Anamaria Cuza, Computer Science (Algorithmic bias, Ethical AI)

Maya Fitzstephens, Communications Studies (Algorithm Auditing)

Gabriel Grill, Information (Social, Cultural, and Ethical Aspects of Algorithmic Systems)

Oliver Haimson, Information (Social Media, Life Transitions, Online Identity)

Cole Howe, Computer Science (Algorithm Auditing)

Julie Hui, Information (Communities, Help Seeking, Learning Sciences, Development)

Megh Marathe, Information (Disability Studies, Science & Technology Studies, e-governance)

Danny Meyerend, Communication Studies (Digital Studies, African-American Studies, Algorithmic Culture, Race and Media)

Megan Rim, American Culture (Race and Technology, Algorithmic Surveillance, Women of Color Feminisms, Feminist STS, Digital Studies)

Oluwadamilola Sado, Computer Science (Algorithmic Auditing)

Jana Wilbricht, Communication Studies (Infrastructure Studies, Rural Broadband, Community Radio, Health Equity)





(Listed with research topic and last known placement.)

Cheol Gi Bae, Ph.D. (Telecommunications Policy), Korea Telecom

David Brandon, Ph.D. (Bioinformatics), University of Illinois

Ajaay Chandrasekaran, (Telepresence and Human-Computer Interaction), Epic Systems

Matt Crain, Ph.D. (Critical Media Studies & Public Policy), Miami University

Ryan Croke (Disability and Telecommunications), University of Illinois, Springfield

Rivka Daar (Organizational Communication & New Media), Goldman Sachs

Kelly Delahanty (New Media Art & Design), National Center for Supercomputer Applications

Curtis Fenner (Telepresence and Human-Computer Interaction), Square

Emily Kessler (Telepresence and Human-Computer Interaction), Microsoft

Jeff Kolar (New Media & Studio Art), PSAV

Lindsay Hinkle (Psychology, Communication, & Gender), State Farm Insurance

Whitney Hutchinson, J.D. (Law), Borkan & Scahill

Jennifer Ihm, Ph.D. (social network analysis), Kwangwoon University

James Kinzer, J.D. (Law), CDK Global

Andrew Lambert (UX Design), Electronic Arts

Dave Luetger (UX Design), NASA Ames

Elizabeth Lyon (Geographic Information Systems), National Geospatial Intelligence Agency

Jean-Christophe Plantin, Ph.D. (Big Data Infrastructures), London School of Economics & Political Science

Siddhartha Raja, Ph.D. (Telecommunications Policy & Regulation), The World Bank

Julia Raz, Ph.D. (Gender and Gaming), Santa Monica College

Colin Rhinesmith, Ph.D. (Digital Inclusion & Broadband Adoption), Simmons University

Aimee Rickman, Ph.D. (New Media & Adolescence), California State University Fresno

Max Rodriguez (Media Policy), Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu

Emily Shaw (Library and Information Science), Obama Foundation

Ryan Spain (Communication & Public Policy), OSF HealthCare

Darren Stevenson, (Programmatic / Algorithmic Digital Advertising) DataRobot

Penny Trieu, (Computer-mediated communication, Relationships, Social media)

Matt Wondra (Computer Science), Apartment Therapy

Nick Wondra (Computer Science & Engineering Physics), CloudFlare

Shinjoung Yeo, Ph.D. (Information Policy), Loughborough University London